Scholarship Committee Report - June 2021 Newsletter

Message from Co-Chairs Maureen Simpson & Greg Smith


The Scholarship Committee convened for its thirtieth meeting much as it did for its twenty-ninth: virtually and via Zoom. The Committee members include Selena Beattie, Sylvia Berg, Norman Hillmer, Yohana Loucheur, Maureen Simpson (co-chair), Greg Smith (co-chair).  Despite the uncertainties facing post-graduate students and the opportunities for study in London in the upcoming academic year, we still had a reasonable pool of applications by our January deadline and after our preliminary round of reviews, met again on April 18 to determine a final list of winners. Despite the reduced pool size, the applicants were again from a variety of fields and disciplines and coming from across the country. And consistent with previous winners, the finalists were outstanding students with records of academic achievement matched by a range of service and volunteer contributions to various community efforts which the Committee felt would make them fine ambassadors for the LGAC and Canada during their time at the College. A final list of winners with brief biographies will appear in the Fall newsletter.

Other news